Quick Links

Quick Links

Back to top


In the Foundation stage we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

Within the Early Years Framework there are seven areas of learning and development, three prime areas and four specific areas:

Three Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Four Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Children access these areas through a mix of play based adult-led and child-initiated activities, both indoors and outdoors. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others.

Our phonics teaching uses the Letters and Sounds six phase teaching programme from Nursery to Year 2 and is supported with Rocket Phonics.

Our Reading Scheme is the 'Rising Stars' Reading scheme which has been matched to the phonics phases.